Patriot I-9 | Electronic I-9 & E-Verify

States that Require E-Verify

Seventeen states have passed E-Verify legislation mandating the use of E-Verify for some or all businesses. 

The map below is summary of all active E-Verify laws at the State, County or City level:

Everify map
Mao of USA

States Requiring E-Verify for all Hires

Mao of USA

States Requiring Public Employers Must Use E-Verify Based on City or County Ordinances

In every State, Federal Contractors and any of their subcontractors with qualifying contracts that contain the FAR (Federal Acquisition Regulation) E-verify clause are required to use E-Verify. The specific details of E-Verify requirements vary by state. To determine if your business is required to utilize E-Verify, check your local City, County, or State government laws.

It is important for businesses to understand the requirements in their own state, especially if an organization, such as restaurant operations, spans across multiple States Nationwide. In addition, for businesses operating in multiple regions, it may make sense to simply implement E-Verify across the board. Even if it is not required by the law in every state, this ensures consistency for all work sites and no appearance of discriminatory practices or lax standards based on new hire location.